

(http://www.shsu.edu/)

- Home
- · Departments
- · Academic Affairs
- Committee

# **Academic Affairs Council**

W-Z C D E-F G-H I-K L-O P-R S T-V

Appointed by: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 68

Correct as of: August 2017

**Purpose:** Serves in an advisory capacity to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; provides a forum for the discussion of academic matters; serves as an initial academic policy development and review body as requested by the Vice President for Academic Affairs; and provides a forum for communicating more effectively on all academic concerns.

Appointments: Appointments made by Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

#### Chair

Richard Eglsaer, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

#### Committee Members: College of Business Administration

Mitchell Muehsam, Dean
Kurt Jesswein, Associate Dean
Valerie Muehsam, Associate Dean
Phillip Morris, Chair, Department of Accounting
Mark Frank, Chair, Department of Economics and International Business
Joey Robertson, Chair, Department of General Business and Finance
Gerald Kohers, Chair, Department of Management and Marketing

#### Committee Members: College of Criminal Justice

Phillip Lyons, Jr., Dean William King, Associate Dean Holly Miller, Associate Dean William Wells, Chair, Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology Sarah Kerrigan, Chair, Department of Forensic Science Nadar Morag, Chair, Department of Security Studies

### Committee Members: College of Education

Stacey Edmonson, Dean Debra Price, Associate Dean Sandra Stewart, Associate Dean
Jannah Nerren, Associate Dean
Deborah Morowski, Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Mary Nichter, Acting Chair, Department of Counseling
Julie Combs, Acting Chair, Department of Educational Leadership
Abdelilah Sehiaoui, Chair, Department of Language, Literacy and Special Populations
Holly Weimer, Chair, Department of Library Science

### Committee Members: College of Fine Arts and Mass Communication

Ronald Shields, Dean
Wayne Barrett, Jr., Associate Dean
Brian Miller, Associate Dean
Penelope Hasekoester, Associate Dean
Michael Henderson, Chair, Department of Art
Jennifer Pontius, Chair, Department of Dance
Jean-Richard Bodon, Chair, Department of Mass Communication
Scott Plugge, Chair, School of Music
Kristina Hanssen, Chair, Department of Theatre and Musical Threatre

#### Committee Members: College of Health Sciences

Rhonda Callaway, Interim Dean
Rosanne Keathley, Associate Dean
Emily Roper, Associate Dean
Susan Reichelt, Chair, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences
Ray Newman, Chair, Department of Population Health
Jennifer Didier, Gary Oden, Acting Co-Department Chairs, Department of Kinesiology
Denise Neill, Director, School of Nursing

## Committee Members: College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Abbey Zink, Dean
Richard Bello, Associate Dean
Carroll Nardone, Associate Dean
Glenn Sanford, Associate Dean
Terry Thibodeaux, Chair, Department of Communication Studies
Jacob Blevins, Chair, Department of English
Leif French, Chair, Department of World Languages and Cultures
Pinar Emiralioglu, Chair, Department of History
Tamara Waggener, Chair, Department of Political Science
Christopher Wilson, Chair, Department of Psychology and Philosophy
Furjen Deng, Chair, Department of Sociology

#### Committee Members: College of Sciences

John Pascarella, Dean
Anne Gaillard, Associate Dean
Ben Gillespie, Associate Dean
Ben Gillespie, Acting Chair, Department of Agricultural Sciences
Chad Hargrave, Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
Richard Norman, Chair, Department of Chemistry
Peter Cooper, Chair, Department of Computer Science
Brian Cooper, Chair, Department of Geography and Geology
Melinda Holt, Chair, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Joel Walker, Chair, Department of Physics
Faruk Yildiz, Chair, Department of Engineering Technology

#### Other Committee Members

Mary Robbins, Vice Provost
William Angrove, Associate Vice President for Distance Learning
Chris Maynard, Associate Vice Provost for Student Academic Success
Chad Hargrave, Acting Associate Vice President for Special Programs
Somer Franklin, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs/Academic Planning and Assessment
Lisa Shen, Director, Newton Gresham Library
Mark Davis, LTC, Military Science

## To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:

Heather Adams

Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394 Email: heatheradams@shsu.edu